Groundhog Day

There are many aspects of stripping that make me grateful I’m not an average working stiff at a straight job. I can talk back to customers. I can swear. I can toss drinks in people’s faces if they’re out of line. I don’t have to put up with emotionally abusive crap and feel like a pushover.

But my day to day feels damn boring lately. I’m working tons of shifts to pay my big-ticket expenses; taxes, a $1,200+ flight to Europe, the car I hope to buy this summer and a ginormous hospital bill. I’m on a monotonous cycle of working, becoming physically exhausted, hitting the 24 hour store on the way home, popping a sleep-aid, snacking, sleeping and waking up with just enough time to return for my usual 3PM-Midnight swing shift.

On my days off, I don’t do much. I pay bills, I shop and I organize things. I read and write for a few hours. I sit by my friend’s pool, I watch tons of DVR (justifiable as I’m a wannabe TV writer.) When customers ask me about fun places to go and things to do, I usually draw a blank. “Uh…just wander around Bourbon. Check out Uptown by the colleges, good drink specials.”

I’m not terribly good with money and my safest way to be responsible is to work so much I have little time to spend. The bad shifts where I leave almost empty-handed, my reassurance is “at least I didn’t spend money while I was stuck here.” God love indentured servitude. The good shifts make up for it.

Strip clubs are a very interesting environment to observe behaviors and size up various demographics, as well as learn sales techniques and conversational skills. But I don’t feel any different than, or somehow “above” my peers with normal jobs. My lap dances and stage sets are practically identical every time. My conversations are mundane, unless I quickly find a pleasant common ground with the customer. I laugh at bad jokes. I crack even shittier ones. I keep meaning to take certain songs off my stage list and groan every time the ones I’m sick of come on.

My job is quirky and it’s the premise for this blog, but it’s just a job and it’s boring me these days. There are worse gigs, half of which I’ve worked. I’m financially stable and want for nothing. I’m gearing up for summer adventures to Italy, Vegas, LA and maybe even North Dakota. I have work lined up in Providence, RI for the summer. I’m doing credit repair to prep myself for a car loan. NORMAL PEOPLE SHIT.

I don’t have much spark or passion these days, and I’m hoping my upcoming travels and break from the New Orleans routine will re-ignite the flame. Yet, feeling more lucid and passionate often goes hand in hand with feeling squeamish, anxious, vulnerable and manic. I’ve been feeling bored and monotonous in New Orleans, but with the boredom goes deeper, sounder sleep and a sense of security. I’m a bat shit crazy stripper supporting my writing habit at the end of the day, but I can’t hate on people who are perfectly content to live a stable, albeit boring life. There’s a certain comfort in it that I’m enjoying, yet resenting, for the time being.

3 Responses to “Groundhog Day”

  1. Sex Mahoney Says:

    It’s not hate for normality, more like a desire for everyone to invite a little chaos into their lives at least once. It provides much needed perspective. Security is the primary cause of unjustified assurance.

  2. Sassy Says:

    Honey I’m a fellow bat shit crazy stripper supporting a writing habit and BOY do I agree with most of your post. I’m also bored out of my mind recently, but am hopefully livening the daily grind by going on a date or two. Got one planned for this Friday night …. It’s a lot to rest your hopes on but if it goes well I’ll have a spring in my bored 6″ heel step….
    I don’t know if I recommend the above, I’ll keep you posted on how it works out……
    Most nights works a better option anyway, even if it’s crap!!! Xxx sassy

  3. strippermonologues Says:

    It’s funny cause I’m drowning in work doing school and setting up a business for myself and have been reminiscing about the days when I could stay in bed til 3, get up, walk dog, shop for dinner, go to work, go home, sleep, get up at 3 etc

    But I remember so clearly having patches of dissatisfaction, boredom and sometimes the blues from having no purpose, no social life, no normal human contact. You will get your sparkle back when you go on your travels and achieve some of your goals. Fingers xed for you

Leave a Reply

