Carpe Diem

I have a half dozen unpublished blog post drafts. There are certain emotions and occurrences I’m burning to share and dissect, but I’ve become more cautious about impulsively broadcasting information easily connected to my real life.

Suffice it to say, I decided to splurge on something expensive that will be a fantastic experience. I wasn’t going to. I almost transferred my entire bank account to Etrade so responsibility would be the victor over immediate gratification. But we’re not talking about a Louis Vuitton bag, here. We’re talking about reuniting with best friends.

I’m happy with my decision. Two days ago, I was waffling and heard about the unexpected death of a friend’s friend (someone I happened to have an amicable NSA hookup with six years ago). I tend to think of young deaths as preventable, but this wasn’t a suicide or OD, it just happened out of the blue and of course, reminded me time is precious.

It’s one of the sad things about growing up; losing that sense of bulletproof invincibility. I want to leave an impact, however small, during my time and I need experiences to feel inspired. Being a working drone staying in every night and stashing up for a future that isn’t guaranteed ain’t my style.

2 Responses to “Carpe Diem”

  1. Sex Mahoney Says:

    The future is already here and the rain never ends.

  2. Ken Says:

    Don’t tease. I wanna see those blog posts!

Leave a Reply

